Which States Allow Wolf Dogs?

What states can you own a wolf dog?

Restricted States

Several states define wolf hybrids as wild animals and restrict private ownership.

Wolf hybrid ownership is restricted in Alabama, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Dakota and Virginia.

Pure wolves are illegal to keep as a pet and are protected under endangered wildlife species regulation. The Federal Animal Welfare Act defines wolf-dogs as domestic animals and are under the same regulations as many other breeds (as long as they are five generations away from their wolf ancestors).

Washington law does not prohibit people from possessing wolf hybrids.

Are wolf dogs safe?

The fact is, it doesn’t matter that in some cases, some wolfdog hybrids are happy and safe to be around. It doesn’t matter because the practice of breeding a dog to a wolf creates a flood of suffering. Wolves simply are not designed to live in houses with people. They need to trot miles and miles every day.