It is against the law to own an alligator without a legal permit and it is strictly forbidden to own or sell piranhas in Louisiana, Einck said.
The charge of possession of an alligator can result in a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail.
What pets are illegal in Louisiana?
Across the state, there is a ban on owning any of the following: Black Bears. Grizzly Bears. Polar Bears.
And the following ‘big cats’:
- Cougars or Mountain Lions.
- All the subspecies of the above listed.
- Hybrids of the above listed species.
Can you legally own an alligator?
Owning an alligator is legal in some states, though. According to Born Free USA, a national animal advocacy nonprofit, five states have no license or permit requirements regulating the ownership of exotic pets. The group includes Alabama, Nevada, South Carolina and Wisconsin.
Can you have a fox as a pet in Louisiana?
BANS purchase, take, possession and sale of live foxes and coyotes except as otherwise allowed under a breeder or exhibitor license and BANS import.
Can you own a giraffe in Louisiana?
Giraffes. Finally, there are nine states (Florida, Arkansas, Illinois, Louisiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Virginia, and Nebraska) where there is a partial ban on exotic animals, which means a giraffe would be illegal. In the remaining 20 states, owning an exotic animal is totally illegal.